Historic Preservation Commission

Authorized by

Ordinance 13045


Serves in advisory capacity only in recommending landmark and historic district designations. Prepare and maintain inventory of all property within its jurisdiction. Recommend to the Metropolitan Council specific places, districts, sites, buildings, etc. to be designated as historic properties. Encourage the preservation of historic resources, etc.


Ordinance 13045 adopted 8-25-04. 7 member board, 1 appointment by the Mayor-President, 1 appointment by the Downtown Development Dist., 1 appointment by the Foundation for Historical Louisiana, and 4 appointments by the Metro-Council. All members shall be residents of the City-Parish. To the extent possible, the majority of the members shall have qualifications that includes training or experience in architecture, archaeology, real estate development or landscape architecture. NO MEMBER SHALL SERVE MORE THAN 2 CONSECUTIVE FULL 4 YEAR TERMS. Ordinance 13398 adopted 9-14-05 provides for one member to be the Planning Commission Chairman. Mayoral appointment does not require Council approval. With the creation of the Spanish Town Local Historic District, another Board member will be appointed. This additional member must be a member of Spanish Town. ORDINANCE 15198 adopted on October 19, 2011 revamped the HPC Board membership. There are now 7 members of the HPC and all are appointed by the Metro Council. Applicants must be forwarded to the Planning Director to ensure qualification of applicants.


4 Years



MemberTerm Expiration
Amy Fransen 8/12/2020
Nedra Davis 11/28/2020
Kathryn Juneau 9/22/2020
Byron Washington 9/23/2023
Whitney Hoffman Cooper Sayal 9/23/2023
Uyuho Eduok 9/23/2023
Sara Brignac 9/23/2023